Tags

,

Hey Y’all.

Well, I have some depressing news.

I got the much-awaited response from K. Lyon this morning, and let’s just say that it wasn’t exactly what I was hoping to hear.

Yet again I’ve fallen victim to the “College-aged MCs just really aren’t marketable” phenomenon.

As always, this just makes me really mad. Not obviously at any agent or agency in particular, more so at the market in general and the publishing companies that are unwilling to take a risk on novels with college-aged MCs. I can’t tell you how many discussions I’ve read or been a part of that are almost exclusively people calling for more YA/Adult fiction that falls into the New Adult (or college-aged) category.

I mean, it’s not like you jump from graduating high school to being a full-fledged adult. There’s definitely some lag-time there. I know there was for me. So it just baffles me that with all the hundreds of comments I’ve read where people have expressed interest in not just writing, but BUYING and READING novels with a college-aged MC, that there doesn’t seem to be anyone willing to stand up and go “I think there’s a way to sell this. Let’s give it a whirl.”

End rant.

xo

